Spring 2014 ….Trend #2

A couple weeks ago, I attended the M.A.C. 2014 Spring Trends Workshop. My husband was kind enough to drive me, as we had another snow storm that Sunday morning.

I learned a lot at the workshop, was able to ask a lot of questions about M.A.C.’s products. I’ve used their products for years, but I haven’t used them all. This one on one two hour workshop gave me the opportunity to play with pigments both loose and pressed, foundations, concealers, eyeliners, Fix Plus……the list is really endless.

The first look I shared a couple of weeks ago had soft pops of colour that were blown out. I really like that look. It’s easy and it would suit everyone! With soft blush and soft colours for lips.

The second look I want to share with you is quite a bit different. This look has an edgy elegance to it. Everyone loves the look of a cat eye, but each of us are comfortable with varying degrees of a cat eye. Some love the dramatic cat eye, dragging it out. Others like myself are not so comfortable with the dramatic cat eye, I tend to go for the softer more subdued cat eye. The trend for spring is to draw out the cat eye, but don’t fill it in.

Spring Trend 2014

To complete this look, I used a straight eyeliner brush and black gel eyeliner.

I first put concealer on my lids, then lightly dusted the eye with a neutral shade close to the colour of my skin. Then drew out the cat eye, again leaving it bare instead of filling it in. I then used M.A.C.’s Haute and Naughty mascara to complete the eye. I then paired this look with some bronzer and a red lip (my hubby picked the colour). It’s a pretty easy look to complete and I think it looks great!

Tomorrow I will be posting an even easier cat eye, the minimalist cat eye. Love this technique, it’s so darn easy……you’ll thank me!

Let me know what you think of today’s post!

Alysia

Leave a Reply

