MAC Techniques and New Products!

Tomorrow is the first day of Spring!!

I love spring, time to pack up those sweaters and add some colour back to our lives!! Fingers crossed that the weather co-operates, it’s been so darn cold here.

So a couple of weeks ago, I went to another MAC techniques workshop. This workshop focused on the Oscars.

Question for you ….. who do you think stood out this year?

I know, I know it was  almost a month ago, but I have a few favorites.

Oscar Fav's 2014

These three ladies stood out to me, Olivia, Kate and Jada. Love each of their looks! Olivia’s cat eye, Kate’s smoky eye and Jada’s natural look (IN PINK!)

For the most part, the makeup at the Oscars was more natural. The focus wasn’t on covering up imperfects but on working with them. For example Amy Adams.

Amy Adams

Amy has a beautiful bronzed eye, but her complexion isn’t flawless. That’s the whole point of Spring 2014, less focus on covering up your imperfections and more of a focus on being kind to your skin. Taking proper care of your skin so you can let your beauty shine through.

This was a hard concept for me to grasp at first, being used to full coverage applications. I’m now down to medium coverage, working on med/light coverage.

While I was at MAC I picked up a few new products, ones that I had never used before.  A couple products have really stood out, the first being their Prime & Prep CC Cream. I’ve never used a CC cream and was curious…..would it really help?

I purchased the CC cream in neutralize.  It’s a yellow cream that is supposed to help with redness. I’m in love with this product, I’ve been using it for two weeks now. At first I tried applying it with a brush, I was not happy with how it settled. I started using my fingertips and I’m much happier with how it looks. This product has replaced my primer. I find I don’t need one anymore.

The second product that I think is worth a mention is the paint pot in Painterly. I’m using it as an eye primer and loving it. I’m used to using Urban Decay’s Eye Potion because I found it helped my eye shadow’s to pop. Painterly does the exact same thing! I find that with Painterly, you get more bang for your buck.

So I think that’s about it for today’s post, let me know if you have any questions.

Thanks for reading!!

Leave a Reply

