Ok, we need to talk about Skin Care!

Hello!

I hope everyone is able to stay cool during this heat wave we’re having. Oh my, it’s so warm out there!!

There’s been something on my mind for a while now, and I just need to get it out there.

We all LOVE makeup, companies are constantly releasing new products. There are so many new products out there!!!

We spend all of this money on makeup, so we can be creative but sometimes we forget to invest in the products that will help our look last all day.

So let’s talk about Skin Care.

****Disclaimer****

I am not a dermatologist, the opinions I share here are my own. Follow at your own risk.

Ok, so with that out of the way, let’s discuss skin care!

I have met so many clients over the past few years that do not have a daily skin care routine. Having a skin care routine is SUPER important if you want your makeup to last all day long.

Having your makeup artist apply moisturizer to skin that doesn’t normally have it applied isn’t going to help your makeup last. It’s something that needs to be started right away.

I’m going to walk you through my skin care routine;

Step One – Cleanse

Each morning I wake up and cleanse my skin. I have super sensitive skin, I have Rosacea which causes my skin to be super pink. So after a few years of trial and error, I’ve found a line of products that works for me. Cleansing your skin helps to wash away any impurities, leaving your skin clean and fresh.

Step Two – Tone

After I’ve cleansed my skin washing away any impurities, I then tone my skin. We do this to level out the PH of our skin. Cleansing causes our PH levels to change, toning returns the PH level to as normal level allowing our skin to accept the next step.

Step 3 – Moisturize

After cleansing and toning our skin we are now ready to moisturize. Find a product that works well for you. Depending on the season, my moisturizers change. In the winter my skin requires a much thicker moisturizer.

Once or twice a week I add an extra step to my routine.

Exfoliation

This help to get rid of any dead skin. It’s important not to do this too often, it can  irritate your skin.

I shouldn’t have to mention this, but I will. Remember to wash away your makeup daily. Each night before you go to bed, take a few moments to wash away your makeup and pollution that has accumulated throughout the day. I remember being in school and our teacher telling us we age 7 days for every one day that we do not wash away our makeup. Remember that!

So there you go! It’s that simple. Adding these simple steps to your daily routine will immensely help your makeup last all day. I’m not going to lie, if you do not currently have a skin care routine, your skin may react to this new process. But if you persevere your skin will thank you in the long run!

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Ok, we need to talk about Skin Care!

Leave a Reply

